It is derived from the name of one of the founding cantons, Schwyz.

Yes, it is also called "Confoederatio Helvetica", therefore the abbreviation "CH".

Both have a religious background. The white cross is a symbol for the cross Jesus was put on. The red color is a symbol for his blood.

German, French, Italian and Romantsch. However, official documents and declarations on goods have to be provided in German, French and Italian only.

There is no such thing. However, the "Edelweiss" (leontopodium alpinum) has the status of an unofficial national flower.

It is located in the center of Europe in the northern hemisphere. It belongs to the Middle European Time zone (MET), which is one hour ahead of GMT (two hours during daylight saving time).
Latitude: Between N 45° 49' 08" and N 47° 48' 35" (about the same latitude as Montreal, Canada or Seattle, USA)
Longitude: Between E 5° 57' 24" and E 10° 29' 36"

It covers an area of 41'285 km² (approx. 10'201'746 acres or 15'940 square miles), which is about twice as much as Massachusetts (20'262 km² or 7'826 square miles) or a tenth of California (404'653 km² or 156'297 square miles).

The numbers below are taken from the census 2000:
1. Zürich, ZH (population 343'000)
2. Basel, BS (population 176'000)
3. Geneva, GE (population 172'000)
4. Bern, BE (population 129'000)
5. Lausanne, VD (population 117'000)

Monte Rosa ("Dufourspitze") on the border between Switzerland and Italy, elevation 4634 m (15'203 feet).

There is no simple answer to this question, because the two largest lakes are only partially located within the border of Switzerland. The largest lake with international borders is Lac Léman (Lake Geneva), which covers an area of 584 km² (225 square miles). The largest lake which is located completely within Switzerland is the Neuenburgersee, which covers an area of 218 km² (84 square miles)